1.
Choose your teacher
2.
Schedule a lesson
3.
Enter classroom & begin learning

Leigh Drake

Hi there! I have five years of English teaching experience. I have a degree in Education and I am TEFL certified.
New, verified teacher
Teaches:
English
Native languages:
English
Hi there! I have five years of English teaching experience. I have a degree in Education and I am TEFL certified.
Teaches:
English
Native languages:
English
Specialities:
General learning
Conversation
Vocabulary
Grammar
Accent reduction
Young Learners
Travel
Pronunciation
Qualifications:
Bachelor of Education in Intermediate Phase Teaching
TEFL Certification (GA Level 3)
Bio:

I try to make my classes as fun and interesting as possible. I believe it is important to make it an enjoyable experience in order for my students to continue with learning long term. I like to get to know my students so that I can choose the appropriate learning materials according to their needs. I help students to expand their vocabulary, work on sentence construction and grammar, improve reading and writing and gain overall confidence with the language. Let's have fun learning English!

My teaching methodology:
Other than conversational practice, I have a variety of teaching materials that I use in my classes. I use Oxford English, National Geographic Learning, Phonics, ect. I will choose the material according to the interests and needs of the student. We can also watch YouTube videos together if you are more of a visual learner and I will incorporate lots of visual aids in the class to make it more memorable. After my classes, it would be very beneficial for the students to practice the work we covered, and then I will review it with the student in the next class to make sure they understand it fully.
My teaching background:

I have taught students from all over - Japan, China, Switzerland, South Africa. I like working with students aged 7-16, but I have taught students from age 4 as well. I studied to get my Bachelor's Degree for four years, and worked at a private school during this time. I am TEFL certified. Other than working at a school, I have done homeschooling and online tutoring as well. I believe that working on conversational English is very important. Students often know a lot of words, but the tricky part is putting the sentences together correctly. So I encourage free-talk in my classes, let's discuss our interests and general life topics. We can work on your reading, speaking, writing, grammar, etc.

My background outside of teaching:

Other than my teaching, in my personal life I love to travel and experience new cultures, food, and lifestyles. I like going for hikes with my friends and my dog. I often swim in the sea. I like reading books for fun, listening to music, and love watching TV Shows and movies. I absolutely love children and all animals! I am a philanthropist and would like to volunteer more at my local animal shelter. Lastly, I am a very big foodie! I am not really into politics though, so that isn't a topic I often discuss in my classes. I am sure we will have lots to talk about to help improve your conversational English!

Price per lesson
30-minute trial lesson: FREE
Lesson length:
Oops! It looks like your teacher has no availability right now. Send a message to ask when you can schedule a lesson.
Find more
teachers
Calendar preview
15 Apr - 21 Apr
Mo
Tu
We
Th
Fr
Sa
Su
6 am - 12 pm
12 pm - 5 pm
5 pm - 12 am
12 am - 6 am
No availability 🙁
Find more
teachers
Lesson times displayed based on your current local time: 5:11 AM (UTC).
Log in to change your time zone.